SDSN Greece 

SDSN Greece logo

The Greek SDSN has been included in the SDSN network and is co-hosted by ICRE8: International Center for Research on the Environment and the Economy and the Political Economy of Sustainable Development Lab. It is co-chaired by Prof. Phoebe Koundouri and Prof. Andreas Papandreou, aiming to contribute to achieving the goals of the SDSN network. The executive council is responsible for formulating the Greek Leadership Council that consists of politicians, entrepreneurs, academicsand representatives of the civil society. The structure of SDSN Greece is depicted in the following diagram:

SDSN Greece Structure

All members of the councils will be chosen upon recognition of their contribution towards fulfilling the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) of the United Nations for 2030. It is also important that all Greek universities, technical institutions and research centers will be collaborating towards that direction. UN SDSN-Greece has also a central role to play in the implementation of the Mediterranean UN SDSN. In this direction, the Greek hub aims to revive the Mediterranean Climate Change Initiative (MCCI). The MCCI initiative was envisaged as both an autonomous Mediterranean political initiative aiming at strengthening international and regional agreements through common policy positions and concrete actions, as well as a projects-based initiative to be eligible for the Union for the Mediterranean branding. It was formally established in 2010 with a Joint Political Declaration signed by four Prime Ministers and 13 Ministers, in a goal to “strengthen collaboration on convergent challenges and opportunities across the Mediterranean and place a greater focus on the implementation of Union for the Mediterranean projects in the Mediterranean region”. The MCCI initiative was composed by Eighteen (18) Political Delegations, including eight (8) EU Member States (Bulgaria, Cyprus, France, Greece , Italy, Malta, Romania, Slovenia) together with Albania, Croatia, Egypt, FYROM, Israel, Mauritania, Montenegro, Palestinian National Authority, Serbia and Turkey and was fully supported by the European Union. 

Back to top